Six 2021 Honda Models Earn Highest Safety Rating

Honda has announced that six of its 2021 model lineup received the top rating 

The Honda brand has become synonymous with safety since it started creating passenger vehicles all the way back in 1963. Over the years, Honda has continuously invested into the research and development of new safety features to keep you and your passengers safe, which has led to numerous 5 star safety ratings for Honda vehicles. 2021 isn’t any different in this regard, as an impressive total of 6 Honda models earned the IIHS Top Safety Ratings. The top safety rated Honda models are the:

  • 2021 Honda Accord
  • 2021 Honda Insight
  • 2021 Honda Honda Odyssey
  • 2021 Honda Civic Hatchback
  • 2021 Honda Civic Sedan
  • 2021 Honda CR-V

With very little change of conventional safety equipment like airbags, Honda now innovates in technology and safety features both active and passive. The Honda Sensing Suite continues to improve year over year and features incredible technology like Adaptive Cruise Control, Road Departure Mitigation, the Collision Mitigation Braking System, Lane Keep Assist, and many more features that make driving a much more safe and enjoyable experience.

Besides the safety technology, Honda vehicles are built off an Advanced Compatibility Engineering (ACE) body structure. The fancy name aside, this means the body structure of every Honda vehicle is designed to absorb impact and distribute energy along the whole vehicle body to help reduce the severity of major impacts or collisions.  

How the Top Safety Picks are Chosen

“To earn the 2021 TSP award, a vehicle must earn “GOOD” crashworthiness ratings in all test modes, including in the challenging passenger-side small overlap test. A top-rated vehicle must also offer front crash prevention that earns an “ADVANCED” or “SUPERIOR” rating in both vehicle-to-vehicle and vehicle-to-pedestrian testing, as well as “GOOD” or “ACCEPTABLE” ratings for available headlights; while TSP+ rated vehicles must achieve the same “GOOD” or “ACCEPTABLE” rating for their standard headlights. Separately, every Honda model that has been fully evaluated in the NHTSA’s 2021 model year NCAP testing has received a 5-Star Overall Vehicle Score”

For more detailed information on the 6 winning Honda models, check out the IIHS Top Safety Pick awards page. 

Watch this short video from Honda to see how impactful new vehicle safety features are for pedestrians and drivers alike. Stay posted to the Honda West blog for more updates on anything and everything Honda.